Boy to Man

Becoming a man is apart of the growing up process. As my views on life have changed it has become more apparent to me that I need to be to the best of my ability a biblicaly man. Besides acting my age, being more responsible, and not doing childish things (I mean like getting in trouble for doing dumb stuff) I need to be a more biblical man. This has been on my mind a lot lately so I’ve been reading from some articles online and some books. Taking steps away from immaturity and dependency and moving toward being more independent and more of an adult is what I feel will help me grow as a person and also with God. With this being said starting my 20s has had me thinking about the future like mostly family, career, marriage, kids, finances, and the difficulties of getting older. Gaining life experiences will help me get ready for these things but actually doing them and also growing with God will be a challenge. Things in life may take up more of my time and I need to keep God as the  number one desire. Getting plugged into a good church after college I think will be helpful with that. Being a biblical man will also help me stay close to God and make the situations I am easier to cope with. So the digging around I have done about this topic gave me some good answers. I’m just going to throw out all the verses, knowledge, and other stuff I found in the next section.

Characteristics of Godly Man

  1. Man was created in God’s image–“creative and relational”
  2. Man was created a worshiper–“Worship God, not false idols”
  3. Created a sinner–“Given grace, deal with conflicts”
  4. Man is in need of God’s Grace–“Humble and courageous”
  5. Man was created self-sufficient but needs God–“Strength, guidance, wisdom”

Other Good Characteristics

  • Sober-minded
  • Self Control
  • Respectable
  • Holy
  • Firm to the Word
  • Gentle
  • Disciplined
  • Hospitable

Bad Characteristics

  • Drunkard
  • Violent
  • Quarrelsome
  • Arrogant
  • Lover of money, worldly possessions
  • Tempered

Chart 

Attitude                                     Action                                    Reference

Eternal Mindset Do Work for Father John 4:54, 5:50, 8:28-29
Be filled with Spirit
Share Gospel with others Mark 1:14-15
Live Holy 1 Peter 2:22
Love/Understanding Meet others Matt 4:23
Sacrifice desires Luke 22:42
Gentle Matt 11:29
Courage Lead disciples John 6:2
Show Initiative Mark 6:34-44
Confrontational Matt 23:1-36
Conscientiousness Responsible John 17:4, 14:30
Diligent Hebrews 12:23
Humility Serve Others John 13:12-14, 6:5-10
Glorify God John 8:50, 54, 17:1,4

Type of Man God Intended

Psalm 119:105 “Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.”

2 Peter 1:3 “His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.”

John 17:17 “Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth.”

Roles which Men must Excel

  • Lover
  • Protector
  • Provider

Bottom Line

Christian men need to take personal responsibility to study Scriptural teaching in this area, communicating with other godly men about it, and depending on God’s grace to change. I know I’m going to be working on this for awhile because it’s going to take a long time ha. I’m going to be doing my best to live like how God intended man to live.

Leave a Reply

